The First Day

School has started with a rush of excitement and a pinch of anxiety tossed in for good measure.

Most returning will be entering a new grade level with some apprehension.

Others will be starting their very first day at school, ever.

First day children as well as parents are most certainly having butterflies in their bellies.

Allow me share with you my oldest daughter’s entrance into school.

We lived very close to the school that she would be attending for kindergarten. The big morning arrived and my daughter was really concerned that she would get lost. I pinned a note on her dress, with her name and address, and tried to assure her she would be fine.

We drove to the bus stop, by this time she was getting more nervous and asked me to follow the bus to school to make sure she was alright.

Oh. God.

Now I am caught between a rock and a hard place because if I follow the bus she will not get over this nervousness, but on the other hand I don’t want her very first day of school to be a disaster.

After the children all boarded the bus, she was waving none stop, so I went against my better judgement and followed the bus.

I pulled in at the school and stood in line with other parents who were saying goodbye to their children, as most of them had walked together to school.

Her bus let the children off and they walked in a line, into the school. My little girl had the biggest smile on her face, as she passed, she waved to me.

That made it all worth while.

Note: This went on for a whole week.

Oh. God. (Smiling)

Leave a Reply

