Fingers

I suppose you could call me a very late bloomer.

My mother was pregnant with my second brother, which  I wasn’t aware of until one of my friends told me that my mother was going to have a baby.

You can only imagine my surprise when I asked if this was true.

My parents said they were waiting for a call from the hospital, to let them know when a baby was available.

Can you believe that?

The stories they told.

I was eight years old when my second brother came, so I wasn’t very up on life and all that happens, that’s for sure.

One morning my mother was not there, and my father was home making breakfast for my brother Bob and I.  “Where is mom, dad?”

She is at the hospital waiting for a baby.

Pure excitement ran through me.  “Can she get a sister for me?”

Dad said, “You just have to take whatever they give you.”

“REALLY?”

Then the magic, in walked my mom with this little baby brother.

I had a cold at the time, so I wasn’t allowed to close.

She put him in the crib, but I could only stand at the door.  I couldn’t even see him because there was a bumper pad that went around the inside of the crib. He was completely out of sight.

I remember being very sad that I could not go in the room.

When my cousin arrived along with my aunt and the rest of the family, to see my new brother Richard, I wouldn’t allow my cousin into the room.

We are close in age, just a year apart, and if I couldn’t go in, then neither could she.

I spread my arms across the door way and would not let her pass.  Talk about an over protective sister. <Laughing>

My mother finally got a face mask for me to wear.

I sat on the chair next to his crib, and I was finally able to touch his little hand and fingers.

His tiny hand wrapped around my finger.

It was love at first touch.

From that day forward he was the most important thing in my life.

Don’t misunderstand, I loved my brother Bob, who was a year and a half younger than myself; we always played together.

This was just different, Richard was a baby.

The first baby in my life.

There I was, always wanting to be around him.  As he grew, I helped feed him and took him for walks in his carriage.  Where ever I went, I took him with me.

When I went with my friends, he went too.

Then when I was old enough to drive, he would want me to take him to McDonald’s, and of course I did, also to the movies or wherever he wanted.

I bought him his first skate board and I can still remember the excitement on his face!  That’s what big sisters do.

He was a wonderful brother throughout my whole life.

I lost my baby brother three years ago in October to pancreatic cancer.

The pain is still deep, but life must go on, even when those fingers slip away.

5 thoughts on “Fingers

  1. Wow Linda, this one choked me right up. I’m so sorry for your loss and thank God for memories. Thanks for sharing. Your friend Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

